Friday, February 18, 2011

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

My Sailing Year End Report

Dear blog,

I have not been writing much here, as I have been focussing on the Koo Racing Team blog and web site. I am trying now to fill in all voids that I have left out here,

After winning the Malaysian Match Racing Championship 2010, I was then involve in the annual Raja Muda Selangor International Regatta which our team Mata Hari came in 3rd in our class, it was exciting as usual, racing againts kuku kerchu , rapscallion and now piccolo.
Sadly skandia one of our RSYC club boat was written off at phuket race week, the same happened to rapscallion in the recent Phuket's King's Cup. Written off as in both are wrecked now.Rapscallion beached
Skandia on the Rock

This is not good news for the club 's already declining fleet of yachts.

At the end of the year, we competed in the Monsoon Cup, it was tough, we were much better at the prestart winning atleast 3 to4 of them but we just couldnt sustain the pace, as others match racing team shows their class, and I personally identified it as course reading, their course reading and placement were exceptional, its not just separating the course side to good side or bad side, it also invlove determining when the bad side can be a good side which most probably will stay a good side for a few minutes unless you find another puff.

Anyway it was a good experience, showed us what we lack, we will try to do more match racing in 2011 and hope to receive more sponsors to aid us in our endeavor to be a top match racing team.

In 2011, First Stop Royal Langkawi International Regatta, I will be sailing with Rolf (Team ViewPoint)on a Platu


Monday, December 20, 2010


Monday, December 6, 2010

List of Match Race Grade 3 / 4 Asia Pacific Events for 2010/2011

List of Grade 3 events

Now that I am back from the Raja Muada International Regatta and the Monsoon Cup 2010.

I am back to this blog,
Our Team had a very good learning experience at the Monsoon Cup. Though we did not win any races, we did win 4 pre starts and lead the race but we couldnt sustain.

We need more experience, so I am going to list out all grade 3 events from the ISAF site from 2010/2010 and hopefully we can go join those competition next year, gaining ISAF ranking points and experience

14th Asian Sailing Championship 20/03/2010 29/03/2010 Guangzhou (CHN)
Korea Match Cup Qualifier 06/05/2010 07/05/2010 Gyeonggi (KOR)
Match Race Thailand Spring Cup 1 05/06/2010 05/06/2010 Pattaya (THA)
Match Race Thailand Spring Cup 1 06/06/2010 06/06/2010 Pattaya (THA)
IODA Asian Championship 03/07/2010 11/07/2010 Pattaya (THA)
Match Race Thailand Cup 3 18/09/2010 19/09/2010 Pattaya (THA)
Malaysian Match Racing Championships 20/10/2010 23/10/2010 Terengganu (MAS)

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Monsoon Cup 2010 Round(Stage 1) Pairing List

Click on the Image for a larger View

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Monsoon Cup 2010 - 10 skippers confirmed

WITH less than 30 days to go before the Monsoon Cup starts, 10 skippers have confirmed their places in the season-ending World Match Racing Tour (WMRT) with two more places still up for grabs.

The final qualifier will be determined at the Sunseeker Australia Cup on Nov 24-27 while the Monsoon Cup organisers will announce a wild card soon to complete the 12-sailor lineup who will compete in Kuala Terengganu.
The 10 skippers are France’s tour leader

  1. Mathieu Richard (French Match Racing Team),
  2. New Zealand’s Adam Minoprio (ETNZ/Black Match Racing),
  3. Ian Williams (Team GAC Pindar),
  4. Great Britain’s Ben Ainslie (TEAMORIGIN),
  5. Australia’s Torvar Mirsky (Mirsky Racing Team),
  6. Denmark’s Jesper Radich (Radich Racing Team),
  7. Italy’s Francesco Bruni (Azzurra) and
  8. Australia’s Peter Gilmour (YANMAR Racing), together with
  9. Malaysia’s Jeremy Koo (Koo Racing Team-Evernew) and
  10. New Zealand’s Phil Robertson (WAKA Racing).

Monsoon Cup operations manager, Muhamed Shafique Mohamed Iqbal, said: “It is going to be an exciting 30 days before the Monsoon Cup.”

The Monsoon Carnival, which started on Oct 1, is also a move by the organisers to promote the event in all seven districts of Terengganu.
The event kicked off in Jerteh, Besut on Oct 1-2 before moving to Permaisuri, Setiu on Oct 8-9. It was followed by Kuala Berang, Hulu Terengganu (Oct 15-16) and Kemasik, Kemaman (Oct 22-23).
Upcoming events are in Marang (Fri-Sat), Dungun (Nov 12-13) and Kuala Terengganu (Dec 1-5).

“We are delighted the public has been supportive of the carnival and I’m sure they will flock to the main carnival which will coincide with the staging of the Monsoon Cup,” Shafique added.
Shafique confirmed that more side events for the Monsoon Cup are still in the planning stage and will be announced shortly.

Source & Credits

Read more: 10 skippers confirmed

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Mathieu Richard in Confident Mood Ahead of the Monsoon Cup

London, UK – 1 November, 2010

Mathieu Richard (FRA) French Match Racing Team, is in buoyant mood ahead of the World Match Racing Tour’s decider event, the Monsoon Cup, confident in the belief he can exploit the weaknesses of his nearest rivals to win the Match Racing World Champion title that has so far eluded him.

Richard, said: “We are in great form and getting ready for the Monsoon Cup. We’ve had a great season, with three victories and five podiums and we’ve been leading the world ranking throughout the year so yes, our goal is definitely to win. This title is very dear to us. The ball is now in our camp and it is our duty to get the job done!”

Read more on Richard’s thoughts about Adam Minoprio (NZL) ETNZ/BlackMatch Racing and Ben Ainslie (GBR) TEAMORIGIN as well as his preparations ahead of the Monsoon Cup (30th November to 5th December 2010) at

2010 ISAF World Match Racing Tour Standings
(After Stage 8 of 9)
1. Mathieu Richard (FRA) French Match Racing Team 105 Points
2. Adam Minoprio (NZL) ETNZ/BlackMatch Racing 90 Points
3. Ben Ainslie (GBR) TEAMORIGIN 88 Points
4. Torvar Mirsky (AUS) Mirsky Racing Team 76 Points
5. Ian Williams (GBR) Team GAC Pindar sponsored by Argo Group 72 Points
6. Jesper Radich (DEN) Gaastra Racing Team 60 Points
7. Francesco Bruni (ITA) Azzurra 53 Points
8. Peter Gilmour (AUS) YANMAR Racing 51 Points
9. Bjorn Hansen (SWE) Hansen Global Team 33 Points
10. Magnus Holmberg (SWE) Sigma Racing Team 29 Points

Source and Credits